Use Cases

UseCases

Time to time I come across different interesting scenarios and use cases of Big Data which have a direct positive impact (weather forecast) and negative impact (user surveillance) on our lives. Here are some of the ones I found too interesting to share.

If you are involved in any interesting Big Data scenarios, please let me know and I will add it to this page. You can get my email from the `About Me` section on this blog.

Infrastructure

Managing sewage like traffic thanks to data - http://gigaom.com/data/managing-sewage-like-traffic-thanks-to-data/

Media


How India’s favorite TV show uses data to change the world - http://gigaom.com/cloud/how-indias-favorite-tv-show-uses-data-to-change-the-world/


Process a Million Songs with Apache Pig - http://www.cloudera.com/blog/2012/08/process-a-million-songs-with-apache-pig/


Health Care

Neural Network for Breast Cancer Data Built on Google App Engine -http://googleappengine.blogspot.in/2012/08/neural-network-for-breast-cancer-data.html

Processing Rat Brain Neuronal Signals Using A Hadoop Computing Cluster – Part I -http://www.cloudera.com/blog/2012/07/processing-rat-brain-neuronal-signals-using-a-hadoop-computing-cluster-part-i/

Big Data in Genomics and Cancer Treatment - http://hortonworks.com/blog/big-data-in-genomics-and-cancer-treatment/

Big data is the next big thing in health IT - http://radar.oreilly.com/2012/02/health-it-big-data.html

Big data and DNA: What business can learn from junk gene - http://gigaom.com/cloud/big-data-and-dna-what-business-can-learn-from-junk-genes/

UC Irvine Medical Center: Improving Quality of Care with Apache Hadoop -http://hortonworks.com/blog/improving-quality-of-care-with-apache-hadoop-at-uc-irvine-medical-center/ 

Lessons from Anime and Big Data (Ghost in the Shell) - http://hortonworks.com/blog/lessons-from-anime-and-big-data-ghost-in-the-shell/

6 Big Data Analytics Use Cases for Healthcare IT -http://www.cio.com.au/article/459879/6_big_data_analytics_use_cases_healthcare_it/  

IT Infrastructure

Hadoop for Archiving Email
 - http://www.cloudera.com/blog/2011/09/hadoop-for-archiving-email/
 - http://www.cloudera.com/blog/2012/01/hadoop-for-archiving-email-part-2/


The Data Lifecycle, Part One: Avroizing the Enron Emails
 - http://hortonworks.com/blog/the-data-lifecycle-part-one-avroizing-the-enron-emails/
 - http://hortonworks.com/blog/the-data-lifecycle-part-two-mining-avros-with-pig-consuming-data-with-hive


Fraud Detection & Crime
Using Hadoop for Fraud Detection and Prevention -http://www.cloudera.com/blog/2010/08/hadoop-for-fraud-detection-and-prevention/

Big data thwarts fraud - http://radar.oreilly.com/2011/02/big-data-fraud-protection-payment.html

Hadoop : Your Partner in Crime - http://hortonworks.com/blog/hadoop-your-partner-in-crime/

Ad Platform
Why Europe’s Largest Ad Targeting Platform Uses Hadoop -http://www.cloudera.com/blog/2010/03/why-europes-largest-ad-targeting-platform-uses-hadoop/

Travel


Big data is stealth travel site's secret weapon - http://gigaom.com/cloud/hopper-travel-search/

Education

Big Data in Education
http://hortonworks.com/blog/data-in-education-part-i/
http://hortonworks.com/blog/big-data-in-education-part-2-of-2/


Network Security
Introducing Packetpig

http://hortonworks.com/blog/big-data-security-part-one-introducing-packetpig/
http://hortonworks.com/blog/big-data-security-part-two-introduction-to-packetpig/

Enterprise and security

http://gigaom.com/data/6-ways-big-data-is-helping-reinvent-enterprise-security/

Others


Adopting Apache Hadoop in the Federal Government -http://www.cloudera.com/blog/2011/04/adopting-apache-hadoop-in-the-federal-government/

10 days big data changes everything - http://gigaom.com/2012/03/11/10-ways-big-data-is-changing-everything/

Biodiversity Indexing: Migration from MySQL to Hadoop -http://www.cloudera.com/blog/2011/06/biodiversity-indexing-migration-from-mysql-to-hadoop/

Popular posts from this blog

Architectural Patterns for Near Real-Time Data Processing with Apache Hadoop

INTEGRATE SPARKR AND R FOR BETTER DATA SCIENCE WORKFLOW

How-to: Ingest Email into Apache Hadoop in Real Time for Analysis